Gou Pastel's Hub



You know what genre of games I'd really like more of? Ocean games.

I realize that's kind of a vague description, but I tend to really like games that have to do with the ocean. A lot of them would most likely be classified as simulation games.

My love for ocean games started with Endless Ocean 2 for the Wii. That was a big part of my early teens. I also really enjoyed playing Zoo Tycoon's 2 sea expansion pack, but that's a story for another time.

I spent a long time playing through Endless Ocean 2, even though it legit scared me a lot sometimes and I would be sweating and half scared to death. My thalassophobia is pretty specific so it wouldn't always trigger me. I finished that game all the way through and then... I kept playing. I did so much post-game stuff and it's a very nostalgic game for me. Also Endless Ocean Luminous is coming out next month so I'm low key excited for it. I'll wait until it has some sort of sale before I buy it though, don't have money for a full priced game.

I've also always loved games that have fishing mechanics like Animal Crossing but I don't know if you can really relate that to a "water game"

The Bioshock franchise appealed to me a lot with it's underwater city aesthetics, so even though it's not an ocean game, I do feel like it appeals to me even more because of it's specific setting

A big favorite ocean game is definitely Subnautica. I played through both games and it perfectly balances the intrigue of exploring a new world, played into my curiosity of seeing all kinds of new creatures, and kept it horrific enough to keep you tense. A truly incredible game that I found really hard to play at first because it was really triggering but once I managed ease into became a big favorite

I wouldn't classify Genshin Impact as an ocean game but the Fountaine map does feel very satisfying to play and has a lot of what I do enjoy about underwater exploration. There's large and beautiful environments ready to be explored filled with different plants and creatures.

There's probably still other ocean games I'm forgetting but I'll add them in, as I see fit in any case